Leadership Award

Since 1979, ANAC has recognized the accomplishments of individuals with the Feed Industry Leadership Award. This award is presented yearly to industry leaders who, through their work and dedication to the feed industry, have made significant contributions to the livestock sector in Canada.

Now accepting applications for 2024!

Nominations for the 2024 Feed Industry Leadership Award will be accepted for consideration until March 22, 2024. Nomination forms must be submitted via an ANAC division, board member or member company delegate. Award recipients will be recognized at ANAC’s Annual General Meeting and Convention which will be held in St. John’s, Newfoundland from May 29 to 31, 2024. ANAC will cover the costs for the recipient and one guest to attend the event.

Feed Industry Leadership Award recipients:


Tim Armstrong

Tim Armstrong grew up on a mixed beef and grain farm in Northwestern Alberta and completed his BSc (Agr) with a major in Animal Science at the University of Saskatchewan. He started his career in Nutrition and Sales at Calmar Feeds from 1997-1999, followed by Feed Sales and Nutrition at New Life Feeds in Saskatoon from 1999. Under the mentorship of Barry Everitt, an ANAC Golden Award Recipient, Tim took over running the Saskatoon feed mill in 2005 and played a key role in the construction and operation of New Life’s new facility in Clavet SK in November 2012. In 2018, Tim transitioned to Procurement and Risk Management.

Tim has been actively involved in the Feed and Agriculture Industry, serving on the ANAC Saskatchewan division an helped coordinate the merge with ANAC Alberta to form the Western Feed Industry Association (WFIA). Tim served on the ANAC National Board from 2010-2021 as a Saskatchewan representative and the Vice Chairman and Chairman. Tim has also contributed to various committees such as the CFIA ERA Committee, the CVMA Committee, the Steering Committee for CFRC, and the Canadian Hemp Trade Alliance. He frequently speaks at student nights and events to educate the Canadian public about the high quality and safety of Canadian Food and Feed production.

John Brennan, JBW Nutrition Consulting

John Brennan holds a PhD in Animal Science from the University of Alberta and has held notable positions throughout his career. He worked at Maple Leaf Foods Inc. as the Director of Agrisearch and later as the VP of R&D and Technology Application, overseeing animal nutrition, feed manufacturing and technology application. At Trouw Nutrition, John Brennan served as the VP of Research & Technology Application until 2020, responsible for R&D staff, facilities, research programs, and technology application in North America. Currently, John is the president of JBW Nutrition Consulting, he provides strategic consulting services for animal nutrition and health companies while also contributing to Scientific Advisory Boards.

Brennan’s contributions to Canada’s animal sciences sector are significant. He developed extensive R&D programs, focusing on nutritional and disease studies to register new feed additives. He has served on the Board of Directors for ANAC and held the position of Chair from April 2013 to April 2015. His work has been instrumental in supporting antibiotic-free production systems, speciality feeds such as gut modifiers, and represented the feed industry on the modernization of the Feeds Act. Currently, he continues to support the Canadian feed industry, driving innovation for farm efficiency and sustainability.

Paul Groenewegen, Masterfeeds

Paul holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Animal and Poultry Science from the University of Guelph (1987) and a Master of Science degree in nutritional physiology from the same university (1989). He spent 15 years at Agribrands Purina Canada in various roles, including District Sales Manager and Swine Sales Specialist, showcasing his expertise in swine production and nutrition. Paul then joined Alltech Canada in 2004, where he worked his way up to Canadian General Manager over 12 years. He returned to animal nutrition in 2016 as the Director of Innovation and Nutrition at Masterfeeds, an Alltech company. In this role, Paul leads the nutrition and formulation team, ensuring quality consistency and driving continuous innovation. Paul is a well-respected leader who is known for coaching his team members, generating enthusiasm, asking great questions, and fostering creativity.


Andy Humphreys, Pestell Nutrition


David Buttenham, Ontario Agri Business Association


Marvin Stevenson, Halchemix Canada

HyLife Founders

Don Janzen, Denis Vielfaure and Claude Vielfaure, HyLife

From 1979 to 2019, this award was known as the Golden Award. In 2020, the name of this award was changed to the Feed Industry Leadership Award to better reflect the purpose of the award and changes in our industry.

Scroll to Top